Caffeine, 50 mg
"Increase alertness."
A real dose, and half of what one SZN pouch carries. It also sits below the 75 mg per serving that the EU-authorised alertness and concentration claims are based on.6
Neutonic is a UK company founded by podcasters Chris Williamson and James Smith. Its main product is the Neutonic productivity drink, and it has recently launched focus pouches built around Cognizin®, a patented, branded form of citicoline. The purpose of this article is to compare both brands with as little bias as possible, to help you understand which product may be better suited for your individual and specific needs.




Neutonic pouches offer 50 mg of caffeine per pouch, half the amount in an SZN pouch. That makes the product a reasonable option for the heavy nicotine-pouch user, accustomed to more than eight pouches a day, who is transitioning off nicotine.
Each pouch also contains 125 mg of Cognizin®, a patented citicoline made by Kyowa Hakko. Fewer than 25 human trials exist on Cognizin®, all funded by the brand owner, and most use a daily oral dose of 500 mg. There are no published studies showing an effect at the 62 to 125 mg found in pouches, and citicoline is not a molecule built for buccal absorption, as the absorption section explains. Caffeine, with tens of thousands of papers behind it, remains the ingredient doing the work in both products.7
"Increase alertness."
A real dose, and half of what one SZN pouch carries. It also sits below the 75 mg per serving that the EU-authorised alertness and concentration claims are based on.6
"Support focus and mental performance."
Disclosed and real, which deserves credit. But the brand-funded trials behind the claims use 500 mg a day, swallowed. At 125 mg per pouch you would need four pouches to reach the studied dose, and the molecule itself is bulky and charged, so it does not cross the oral mucosa in any useful amount.7
"Mental performance."
Three B-vitamins at 25 % of the daily intake each: B5 1.5 mg, B9 50 µg, B12 0.625 µg. Above the 15 % threshold for a claim, but a quarter of a serving. SZN doses four B-vitamins at 104 to 125 %.1
The label declares one serving as four pouches.
A common but misleading practice. Declaring the serving as four pouches lets the panel show 500 mg of Cognizin® and over 100 % of the daily intake for the three B-vitamins. In reality, one pouch is one serving, and each of those numbers is a quarter of what the panel suggests.1
Credit where due. Neutonic prints every amount on its label, including a branded ingredient with a real number next to it, packs 20 pouches per can, and comes in slightly cheaper in bulk. The question this article raises is whether the headline ingredient can do anything from under your lip, and what the four-pouch serving size is really telling you.
SZN through the same lens. Five ingredients, every one disclosed on the label and dosed at or above the level the claim requires, per pouch. No proprietary blends, no trace inclusions, no four-pouch servings.
Measured values first, then the things you only learn by using both. The second group is our judgement from using both products, flagged as such, not a lab value.
| SZN | Neutonic | |
|---|---|---|
| Measured values | ||
| Price per can, single3 | $12.00 | Not sold singly |
| Price per can, bulk / subscription3 | $6.47 | $6.18 |
| Servings per can | 15 | 20 |
| Caffeine per pouch | 100 mg | 50 mg |
| Vitamins | 4 at 104–125 % DRI | 3 at 25 % RDI |
| Pouch weight4 | 700 mg | 600 mg |
| Pouch pH | pH-neutral | Not stated |
| Third-party tested | Yes · Eurofins5 | No |
| Sweeteners & flavour | Erythritol, sucralose, acesulfame K. Natural flavours | Sucralose. Artificial flavours |
| Label transparency | Every amount, declared per pouch | Every amount, declared per 4 pouches |
| Our assessment Experience | ||
| Dosing | 5 of 5 ingredients properly dosed | 1 of 5 ingredients at a studied dose |
| Scientific evidence for the formula | Strong | Weak |
| Pouch size Tie | Slim | Slim |
| Pouch feel | Soft, premium | Soft |
Both brands use a slim, soft pouch. SZN carries about 17 % more fill by weight, which shows up as a slightly plumper pouch rather than a more flabby format. In the mouth they sit almost identically under the lip.
Drawn to volume from stated weights · same mm scale · silhouettes illustrative
Adding active ingredients to a pouch is an interesting prospect. By using the buccal mucosa, a pouch can act as a direct route to your bloodstream, delivering compounds far faster than the journey through the entire GI tract. But for an ingredient to work this way it has to meet strict molecular criteria, otherwise it sits under your lip doing virtually nothing.
Cognizin® is one of the compounds that really needs to be swallowed. Intact citicoline is a bulky, highly charged molecule with poor passive membrane permeability, so direct transmucosal absorption is inefficient. It also relies on digestive cleavage into choline and cytidine, which then cross into the brain through dedicated transporters. The brand-funded trials use 500 mg a day by mouth, the threshold where changes in brain energy metabolism were measured, and none show an effect at the 62 to 125 mg in a pouch. At 50 mg of caffeine per pouch, Neutonic is a lighter option for heavy users stepping off nicotine. But the nootropic on the tin is not formulated for the tin, and caffeine remains the only ingredient doing the heavy lifting.7
Passive diffusion through the mucosa favours molecules under roughly 500 daltons. Citicoline sits right at that line at about 490 daltons.
Moderately fat-soluble molecules cross fastest. Citicoline carries a permanent positive charge and a phosphate group, so it diffuses poorly even at its size.
Citicoline is cleaved in the gut into choline and cytidine before it reaches the brain. A pouch that bypasses the gut bypasses that step.
Additionally, citicoline depends on digestive cleavage into choline and cytidine to reach the brain, a step the pouch route bypasses completely. What crosses the mucosa from a Neutonic pouch is 50 mg of caffeine.7
Read more: sznpouches.com/pages/science
SZN contains four B-vitamins and reaches over 100 % of the daily intake for each per serving. Neutonic contains three, each at 25 %. Its label declares a serving as four pouches, which makes the panel read 500 mg of Cognizin® and over 100 % for each vitamin. One pouch is one serving, and the figures above are per pouch.
SZN is manufactured in Sweden, considered by many to be the birth nation of the pouch, and is third-party tested by one of the world's leading laboratories, Eurofins. This way you can be certain that each pouch contains what the label says. Neutonic is a UK brand; it does not state where its pouches are manufactured and publishes no third-party testing.
Both brands generate a lot of strong customer feedback, both for the product but also for the customer support & service. As everyone's tolerance level to caffeine is unique, some users are bound to "feel nothing", no matter if they pick SZN, Neutonic, or any other caffeinated pouch. Due to this, SZN offers a full 30 day money-back guarantee, so that anyone can order and try the pouches out.
Neutonic wraps 50 mg of caffeine around a headline ingredient that needs to be swallowed at four times the dose to match its own studies, and a label that quietly counts four pouches as one serving. SZN puts twice the caffeine and four B-vitamins above the daily intake in every pouch, declared per pouch, and proves it with a third-party certificate.