SZN Original · 30-day money-backTry SZN
Head to head · Functional pouches

SZN vs Ultra

SZN and Ultra pouches are by many considered to be the two leading premium functional pouch brands on the market. The purpose of this article is to display both products with as little bias as possible, to help you understand which product may be better suited for your individual and specific needs.

SZN Original can, neon lime puck-shaped tin with the SZN wordmark
SZN Original
100 mg caffeine · B1 B5 B6 B12 · lock-in formula
vs
Ultra Focus Pouches can, white tin with the Ultra wordmark, Cool Mint Strong
Ultra Focus Pouches
Enfinity® paraxanthine · nicotine & caffeine free
01 / Quick orientation

Main claims & who it's for

SZN SZN
Ultra Rival
Primary health claims
Increased alertness, focus and mental performance. Normal functioning of the nervous system, energy-yielding metabolism and reduction of tiredness and fatigue.2
Enhanced mental processing, learning & creativity, calm energy & attentiveness, jitter-free focus.1
Best for
Everyday consumers and professionals looking to stay energized and focused throughout the day.
Biohackers curious to try out novel formulations, and nicotine users wanting to cut down.
02 / The formulas

Claim by claim, dose by dose

Ultra states that the benefits from their ingredients are jitter-free focus, calm energy & attentiveness, enhanced mental processing, balanced energy and mood, as well as learning and creativity. These claims derive from studies done on each compound: Enfinity® PX, L-theanine, Alpha-GPC, ginseng extract and vitamins B6 + B12.

However, the clinical data supporting these statements are not very convincing once you look at the doses that fit inside a pouch.

Ultra · stimulant

Enfinity® PX (paraxanthine)

"Jitter-free focus, calm energy & attentiveness."

A metabolite of caffeine, said to be slightly less bitter with a slightly shorter half-life. Supported by fewer than a dozen studies, made by the company that owns the patent.count Caffeine, by comparison, is one of the most studied compounds of all time.source

Per pouch vs studied dose100–200 mg
100 mg per pouch · properly dosed
Ultra · nootropic

Alpha-GPC

"Precursor to acetylcholine for memory, focus and muscle activation."

Only a handful of human trials, at around 600 mg per serving taken orally. Most Alpha-GPC raw material is a 50% blend with silica or dicalcium phosphate, so a label stating 30 mg amounts to about 15 mg of active. Roughly 40 times below the doses shown effective in trials.

Per pouch vs studied dose600 mg
~15 mg active (30 mg on label)Severely underdosed
Ultra · botanical

Ginseng extract

"Cognitive function, mood and energy."

Far better studied than the two above: over 100 randomized controlled human trials and 20 meta-analyses. But the standard clinical dose, and the dose found in most ginseng supplements, is 200 to 400 mg per day.

Per pouch vs studied dose200–400 mg
1 mg per pouchSeverely underdosed
Ultra · amino acid

L-theanine

"Promotes alpha wave activity and modulates GABA/glutamate balance, elevating focused calm without sedation."

The common dose in capsule studies is 200 mg. At Ultra's per-pouch amount you would need around 20 pouches a day to reach the dose those studies used.

Per pouch vs studied dose200 mg
~10 mg per pouch (20 pouches to reach 200 mg)Severely underdosed

Credit where due. Paraxanthine is a legitimate, caffeine-like molecule. Small enough to cross the oral mucosa and, at Ultra's stated 100 mg, dosed in the range where studies show an effect. The question this article raises is not the stimulant. It is the four supporting ingredients that carry most of Ultra's claims.

SZN through the same lens. Five ingredients, every one disclosed on the label and dosed at or above the level the claim requires. No proprietary blends, no trace inclusions.

Caffeine
100 mg
EFSA-approved claims from 75 mg
Vitamin B1
125 %
of daily reference intake
Vitamin B5
125 %
of daily reference intake
Vitamin B6
118 %
of daily reference intake
Vitamin B12
104 %
methylcobalamin, active form
03 / Comparison datasheet

Head to head, row by row

Measured values first, then the things you only learn by using both. The second group is our judgement from using both products, flagged as such, not a lab value.

Datasheet · same criteria for both
SZN vs Ultra comparison chart
SZNUltra
Measured values
Price per can, single3$12.00$12.60
Price per can, bulk / subscription3$6.47$8.80
Servings per canTie1515
Vitamins4 (B1, B5, B6, B12)2 (B6, B12)
Amino acids01 (L-theanine, 10 mg)
Pouch weight4700 mg600 mg
Pouch pHpH-neutralNot stated
Third-party testedYes · Eurofins5No
Sweeteners & flavourErythritol, sucralose, acesulfame K. Natural flavoursXylitol, sucralose, maltodextrin. Natural flavours
Label transparencyTieFully transparent labelFully transparent label
Our assessment Experience
Dosing5 of 5 ingredients properly dosed3 of 6 ingredients severely underdosed
Scientific evidence for the formulaStrongWeak
Pouch sizeTieSlimSlim
Pouch feelTieSoft, premiumSoft, premium
Head to head, the products are similar across many comparables. Ultra comes out 27 % more expensive per can on bulk pricing, with SZN properly dosed, third-party tested, and resting on far stronger scientific evidence for its claims.
3 Brand webshops, captured 23 Sep 2026 · USD4 Manufacturer specification5 Eurofins CoA 24-08-117
04 / Format

Pouch size & feel

Both brands use a slim, soft pouch. SZN carries about 17 % more fill by weight, which shows up as a slightly plumper pouch rather than a more flabby format. In the mouth they sit almost identically under the lip.

051015202530 mm SZN · SLIM PORTION 700 mg ≈ 29.5 × 14.7 MM · +17 % FILL
051015202530 mm ULTRA · SLIM PORTION 600 mg ≈ 28 × 14 MM

Drawn to volume from stated weights · same mm scale · silhouettes illustrative

05 / Absorption

Dosing aside, what can actually be absorbed?

Adding active ingredients to a pouch is a very interesting prospect. The pouch acts as a carrier that lets an ingredient reach your bloodstream faster than travelling through the entire GI tract, by passing through the oral mucosa. This is known as buccal absorption.

For it to actually work, the active ingredient needs to meet certain criteria. Otherwise it is just going to sit under your lip doing nothing. Ginseng is one of those compounds that really should be swallowed to work: ginsenosides, its active components, have high molecular weights and poor cell-membrane permeability, so they have a very hard time penetrating the oral mucosa.

Filter 1 · Size

Passive diffusion through the mucosa favours molecules under roughly 500 daltons. Larger molecules largely stay in the pouch until swallowed.

Filter 2 · Solubility

Moderately fat-soluble molecules cross fastest. Strongly water-loving or charged molecules diffuse slowly even when small.

Filter 3 · Dose budget

A 600 mg pouch carries about 200 mg of actives in total. An ingredient whose effective dose exceeds its share cannot be dosed to work.

Lipinski gate
< 500 Daltons
Caffeine MW
194 Da
SZN FIG. 01 · MOLECULAR FILTER SALIVA · POUCH SURFACE ORAL MUCOSA — LIPINSKI GATE < 500 Da BLOODSTREAM ULTRAULTRAULTRAULTRA SZN · CAFFEINE 194 Da · PASSES ULTRA · BULK EXTRACT 500+ Da · BLOCKED
Fig. 01 — Passive diffusion through the oral mucosaLipinski's rule of 5 · MW < 500 Da

Additionally, ginsenosides need gut bacteria to convert into an absorbable form, which the pouch route bypasses completely.6–9

Read more: sznpouches.com/pages/science

06 / Vitamins

Four B-vitamins vs two

SZN
Ultra
Vitamin B6
2 mg 118 %
2 mg 118 %
Vitamin B12
2.5 µg 104 %
2 µg 83 %
Vitamin B1
1.5 mg 125 %
Not included
Vitamin B5
5 mg 125 %
Not included

SZN contains four different B-vitamins while Ultra contains two. Ultra reaches over 100 % of the daily reference intake per serving for vitamin B6 but falls a bit short on vitamin B12, whereas SZN reaches over 100 % for all four.

07 / Manufacturing & testing

Where it's made, and who checks

SZN is manufactured in Sweden, considered by many to be the birth nation of the pouch, and is third-party tested by one of the world's leading laboratories, Eurofins. This way you can be certain that each pouch contains what the label says. Ultra manufactures in Denmark, without third-party testing.source

THIRD-PARTY TESTED • EUROFINS • CERTIFICATE 24-08-117 • MADE IN SWEDEN • GMP FOOD MANUFACTURING • BATCH TESTED •
SZN Verified label
  • Every batch tested by Eurofins, one of the world's leading laboratories. Certificate of analysis 24-08-117.
  • Caffeine, B1, B5, B6 and B12 confirmed against the label, so each pouch contains what it says.
  • Manufactured in Sweden, the birth nation of the pouch, under GMP food manufacturing.
NO CERTIFICATE OF ANALYSIS • DOSES NOT DISCLOSED •
Ultra Unverified label
  • No published third-party certificate of analysis.
  • No per-ingredient doses on the brand's own site as of 23 September 2026.1
  • Manufactured in Denmark.
08 / Customer feedback

What the unhappy customers say

Both brands generate a lot of strong customer feedback, for the product and for customer support. As everyone's tolerance to caffeine, and to paraxanthine, is unique, some users are bound to feel nothing no matter whether they pick SZN, Ultra or any other caffeinated pouch. That is why SZN offers a full 30-day money-back guarantee, so anyone can order and try the pouches.

Showcasing only five-star reviews doesn't say much. The unhappy customers are the biggest source of learning, so we compare the share of one-star reviews.

SZN
4.7/ 5
★★★★★
One-star reviews10 %
Verified reviews on sznpouches.com, at time of writing11
Ultra
3.4/ 5
★★★☆☆
One-star reviews24 %
Amazon, variety pack listing, at time of writing10
09 / The verdict

Similar on the surface. Different where it counts.

Same serving count, same slim format, both fully labelled. Ultra brings a genuinely interesting stimulant and more flavours. SZN brings doses that match the studies, a third-party certificate that proves them, and a lower price per can.

30-day money-back guarantee · Ships next day
Frequently asked questions

SZN vs Ultra, answered

Does Ultra work compared to SZN?
Ultra pouches work, as evident from many positive customer reviews. The main difference between SZN and Ultra is the substantial scientific evidence for the SZN formula, which is lacking for the Ultra formula. We encourage anyone interested in functional pouches to try a variety of brands to see which one becomes their favourite.
What does Ultra taste like compared to SZN?
Ultra offers a clean flavour profile with Cool Mint, Wintergreen, Tropical, Watermelon and Blue Razz, versus SZN's Original, Mint, Citrus and Peach. Amazon feedback on Ultra repeatedly cites "bitter" and "horrible" among one-star reviews.10
Is Ultra worth it compared to SZN?
For a similar per-serving cost, SZN delivers significantly more value: four B-vitamins at or above the daily reference intake, every dose verified by an independent laboratory, and a 30-day money-back guarantee if the pouches are not for you.
Sources
  1. Ultra, product and FAQ pages, takeultra.com, captured 23 September 2026. Six actives listed; per-pouch doses not published except 100 mg Enfinity® paraxanthine.
  2. EFSA Register of nutrition and health claims: caffeine, thiamine, pantothenic acid, vitamin B6, vitamin B12.
  3. Brand webshop pricing in USD, single can and best bulk or subscription rate, captured 23 September 2026.
  4. Pouch weight per manufacturer specification. SZN figure pending confirmation against production specification.
  5. Eurofins certificate of analysis No. 24-08-117 for SZN Original.
  6. Paraxanthine pharmacology and safety versus caffeine, PMC3562388, PMC9932512.
  7. L-theanine attention studies, 100–400 mg, PMC5546063. Alpha-GPC performance dosing, PMC5629791.
  8. Ginsenoside molecular weight and in-vivo metabolism, PMC12365553.
  9. Vitamin B12 sublingual vs oral vs intramuscular, meta-analysis, Frontiers in Pharmacology 2025.
  10. Amazon customer reviews, Ultra Focus Pouches variety pack, one-star filter, B0FSG4V4H8.
  11. Verified customer reviews on sznpouches.com.