SZN Original · 30-day money-backTry SZN
Head to head · Functional pouches

SZN vs Neutonic

Neutonic is a UK company founded by podcasters Chris Williamson and James Smith. Its main product is the Neutonic productivity drink, and it has recently launched focus pouches built around Cognizin®, a patented, branded form of citicoline. The purpose of this article is to compare both brands with as little bias as possible, to help you understand which product may be better suited for your individual and specific needs.

SZN Original can
SZN Original
100 mg caffeine · B1 B5 B6 B12 · lock-in formula
vs
Neutonic can
Neutonic Focus Pouches
50 mg caffeine · 125 mg Cognizin® · 20 per can
01 / Quick orientation

Main claims & who it's for

SZN
Neutonic
Primary health claims
Increased alertness, focus and mental performance. Normal functioning of the nervous system, energy-yielding metabolism and reduction of tiredness and fatigue.2
Support focus and mental performance, increase alertness.1
Best for
Everyday consumers and professionals looking to stay energized and focused throughout the day.
Consumers transitioning from nicotine pouches who are used to a high pouch count per day.
02 / The formulas

Half the caffeine, and a nootropic that needs swallowing

Neutonic pouches offer 50 mg of caffeine per pouch, half the amount in an SZN pouch. That makes the product a reasonable option for the heavy nicotine-pouch user, accustomed to more than eight pouches a day, who is transitioning off nicotine.

Each pouch also contains 125 mg of Cognizin®, a patented citicoline made by Kyowa Hakko. Fewer than 25 human trials exist on Cognizin®, all funded by the brand owner, and most use a daily oral dose of 500 mg. There are no published studies showing an effect at the 62 to 125 mg found in pouches, and citicoline is not a molecule built for buccal absorption, as the absorption section explains. Caffeine, with tens of thousands of papers behind it, remains the ingredient doing the work in both products.7

Neutonic · stimulant

Caffeine, 50 mg

"Increase alertness."

A real dose, and half of what one SZN pouch carries. It also sits below the 75 mg per serving that the EU-authorised alertness and concentration claims are based on.6

Per pouch vs SZN100 mg
50 mg per pouch · half of SZN
Neutonic · nootropic

Cognizin® citicoline, 125 mg

"Support focus and mental performance."

Disclosed and real, which deserves credit. But the brand-funded trials behind the claims use 500 mg a day, swallowed. At 125 mg per pouch you would need four pouches to reach the studied dose, and the molecule itself is bulky and charged, so it does not cross the oral mucosa in any useful amount.7

Per pouch vs studied oral dose500 mg
125 mg per pouch · a quarter of the studied dose · wrong route
Neutonic · vitamins

B5, B9, B12 at 25 %

"Mental performance."

Three B-vitamins at 25 % of the daily intake each: B5 1.5 mg, B9 50 µg, B12 0.625 µg. Above the 15 % threshold for a claim, but a quarter of a serving. SZN doses four B-vitamins at 104 to 125 %.1

Share of daily intake per pouch100 %
25 % of daily intake · a quarter of SZN
Neutonic · label

Serving size: 4 pouches

The label declares one serving as four pouches.

A common but misleading practice. Declaring the serving as four pouches lets the panel show 500 mg of Cognizin® and over 100 % of the daily intake for the three B-vitamins. In reality, one pouch is one serving, and each of those numbers is a quarter of what the panel suggests.1

Credit where due. Neutonic prints every amount on its label, including a branded ingredient with a real number next to it, packs 20 pouches per can, and comes in slightly cheaper in bulk. The question this article raises is whether the headline ingredient can do anything from under your lip, and what the four-pouch serving size is really telling you.

SZN through the same lens. Five ingredients, every one disclosed on the label and dosed at or above the level the claim requires, per pouch. No proprietary blends, no trace inclusions, no four-pouch servings.

Caffeine
100 mg
EFSA-approved claims from 75 mg
Vitamin B1
125 %
of daily reference intake
Vitamin B5
125 %
of daily reference intake
Vitamin B6
118 %
of daily reference intake
Vitamin B12
104 %
methylcobalamin, active form
03 / Comparison datasheet

Head to head, row by row

Measured values first, then the things you only learn by using both. The second group is our judgement from using both products, flagged as such, not a lab value.

Datasheet · same criteria for both
SZN vs Neutonic comparison chart
SZNNeutonic
Measured values
Price per can, single3$12.00Not sold singly
Price per can, bulk / subscription3$6.47$6.18
Servings per can1520
Caffeine per pouch100 mg50 mg
Vitamins4 at 104–125 % DRI3 at 25 % RDI
Pouch weight4700 mg600 mg
Pouch pHpH-neutralNot stated
Third-party testedYes · Eurofins5No
Sweeteners & flavourErythritol, sucralose, acesulfame K. Natural flavoursSucralose. Artificial flavours
Label transparencyEvery amount, declared per pouchEvery amount, declared per 4 pouches
Our assessment Experience
Dosing5 of 5 ingredients properly dosed1 of 5 ingredients at a studied dose
Scientific evidence for the formulaStrongWeak
Pouch size TieSlimSlim
Pouch feelSoft, premiumSoft
Head to head, the products are similar across many comparables. Both contain caffeine, SZN at 100 mg and Neutonic at 50 mg. You cannot buy a single can of Neutonic, but in bulk both brands sit at around $6 per can. SZN reaches over 100 % of the daily intake for all four B-vitamins, where Neutonic reaches 25 % for its three. SZN is third-party tested, with far stronger evidence behind its claims.
3 Brand webshops, captured 24 Sep 2026 · USD4 Manufacturer specification5 Eurofins CoA 24-08-117
04 / Format

Pouch size & feel

Both brands use a slim, soft pouch. SZN carries about 17 % more fill by weight, which shows up as a slightly plumper pouch rather than a more flabby format. In the mouth they sit almost identically under the lip.

051015202530 mm SZN · SLIM PORTION 700 mg ≈ 29.5 × 14.7 MM · +17 % FILL
051015202530 mm NEUTONIC · SLIM PORTION 600 mg ≈ 28 × 14 MM

Drawn to volume from stated weights · same mm scale · silhouettes illustrative

05 / Absorption

Dosing aside, what can actually be absorbed?

Adding active ingredients to a pouch is an interesting prospect. By using the buccal mucosa, a pouch can act as a direct route to your bloodstream, delivering compounds far faster than the journey through the entire GI tract. But for an ingredient to work this way it has to meet strict molecular criteria, otherwise it sits under your lip doing virtually nothing.

Cognizin® is one of the compounds that really needs to be swallowed. Intact citicoline is a bulky, highly charged molecule with poor passive membrane permeability, so direct transmucosal absorption is inefficient. It also relies on digestive cleavage into choline and cytidine, which then cross into the brain through dedicated transporters. The brand-funded trials use 500 mg a day by mouth, the threshold where changes in brain energy metabolism were measured, and none show an effect at the 62 to 125 mg in a pouch. At 50 mg of caffeine per pouch, Neutonic is a lighter option for heavy users stepping off nicotine. But the nootropic on the tin is not formulated for the tin, and caffeine remains the only ingredient doing the heavy lifting.7

Filter 1 · Size

Passive diffusion through the mucosa favours molecules under roughly 500 daltons. Citicoline sits right at that line at about 490 daltons.

Filter 2 · Charge

Moderately fat-soluble molecules cross fastest. Citicoline carries a permanent positive charge and a phosphate group, so it diffuses poorly even at its size.

Filter 3 · Route

Citicoline is cleaved in the gut into choline and cytidine before it reaches the brain. A pouch that bypasses the gut bypasses that step.

Lipinski gate
< 500 Daltons
Caffeine MW
194 Da
SZN NEUTONIC FIG. 01 · MOLECULAR FILTER SALIVA · POUCH SURFACE ORAL MUCOSA — LIPINSKI GATE < 500 Da BLOODSTREAM NEUTONICNEUTONICNEUTONICNEUTONIC SZN · CAFFEINE 194 Da · PASSES NEUTONIC · CITICOLINE · CHARGED · BLOCKED
Fig. 01 — Passive diffusion through the oral mucosaLipinski's rule of 5 · MW < 500 Da

Additionally, citicoline depends on digestive cleavage into choline and cytidine to reach the brain, a step the pouch route bypasses completely. What crosses the mucosa from a Neutonic pouch is 50 mg of caffeine.7

Read more: sznpouches.com/pages/science

06 / Vitamins

Four B-vitamins above 100 % vs three at 25 %

SZN
Neutonic
Vitamin B6
2 mg 118 %
Not included
Vitamin B1
1.5 mg 125 %
Not included
Vitamin B12
2.5 µg 104 %
0.625 µg 25 %
Vitamin B5
5 mg 125 %
1.5 mg 25 %
Vitamin B9
Not included
50 µg 25 %

SZN contains four B-vitamins and reaches over 100 % of the daily intake for each per serving. Neutonic contains three, each at 25 %. Its label declares a serving as four pouches, which makes the panel read 500 mg of Cognizin® and over 100 % for each vitamin. One pouch is one serving, and the figures above are per pouch.

07 / Manufacturing & testing

Where it's made, and who checks

SZN is manufactured in Sweden, considered by many to be the birth nation of the pouch, and is third-party tested by one of the world's leading laboratories, Eurofins. This way you can be certain that each pouch contains what the label says. Neutonic is a UK brand; it does not state where its pouches are manufactured and publishes no third-party testing.

THIRD-PARTY TESTED • EUROFINS • CERTIFICATE 24-08-117 • MADE IN SWEDEN • GMP FOOD MANUFACTURING • BATCH TESTED •
SZN Verified label
  • Every batch tested by Eurofins, one of the world's leading laboratories. Certificate of analysis 24-08-117.
  • Caffeine, B1, B5, B6 and B12 confirmed against the label, so each pouch contains what it says.
  • Manufactured in Sweden, the birth nation of the pouch, under GMP food manufacturing.
NO CERTIFICATE OF ANALYSIS • UK BRAND • SERVING SIZE 4 POUCHES •
Neutonic Unverified label
  • No published third-party certificate of analysis.
  • Amounts declared per serving of four pouches, not per pouch.1
  • Manufacturing location not stated.
08 / Customer feedback

What the unhappy customers say

Both brands generate a lot of strong customer feedback, both for the product but also for the customer support & service. As everyone's tolerance level to caffeine is unique, some users are bound to "feel nothing", no matter if they pick SZN, Neutonic, or any other caffeinated pouch. Due to this, SZN offers a full 30 day money-back guarantee, so that anyone can order and try the pouches out.

09 / The verdict

Branded nootropic. Caffeine does the work.

Neutonic wraps 50 mg of caffeine around a headline ingredient that needs to be swallowed at four times the dose to match its own studies, and a label that quietly counts four pouches as one serving. SZN puts twice the caffeine and four B-vitamins above the daily intake in every pouch, declared per pouch, and proves it with a third-party certificate.

30-day money-back guarantee · Ships next day
Frequently asked questions

SZN vs Neutonic, answered

Does Neutonic work compared to SZN?
Neutonic pouches work, as evident from many positive customer reviews, because 50 mg of caffeine works. The main difference between SZN and Neutonic is the substantial scientific evidence behind the SZN formula, which the Neutonic formula lacks: its Cognizin® is dosed at a quarter of the studied amount and delivered by a route it was not designed for. We encourage anyone interested in functional pouches to try a variety of brands to see which one becomes their favourite.
What does Neutonic taste like compared to SZN?
Neutonic is currently sold in one flavour, Fresh Mint, with artificial flavouring, versus SZN's naturally flavoured Original, Mint, Citrus and Peach.
Is Neutonic worth it compared to SZN?
For a similar per-serving cost, SZN delivers significantly more for anyone looking to stay energized and focused through the day: twice the caffeine, four B-vitamins above the daily intake, every dose verified by an independent laboratory, and a 30-day money-back guarantee if the pouches are not for you.
Sources
  1. Neutonic, focus pouch product and supplement-facts pages, captured 24 September 2026. Per pouch: 50 mg caffeine, 125 mg Cognizin® citicoline, B5 1.5 mg, B9 50 µg, B12 0.625 µg; serving size declared as 4 pouches; 20 pouches per can.
  2. EFSA Register of nutrition and health claims: caffeine, thiamine, pantothenic acid, vitamin B6, vitamin B12.
  3. Brand webshop pricing in USD, single can and best bulk or subscription rate, captured 24 September 2026.
  4. Pouch weight per manufacturer specification.
  5. Eurofins certificate of analysis No. 24-08-117 for SZN Original.
  6. EFSA Panel on Dietetic Products, Nutrition and Allergies. Scientific opinion on caffeine and increased alertness and attention: claims substantiated at 75 mg per serving. EFSA Journal 2011;9(4):2054.
  7. Citicoline pharmacology: hydrolysed to choline and cytidine in the gut before uptake, Wurtman et al. 1995; Cognizin® trials at 500 mg/day oral, e.g. Nakazaki et al. 2021 and McGlade et al. 2012, both manufacturer-funded.
  8. Verified customer reviews on sznpouches.com.