SZN Original · 30-day money-backTry SZN
Head to head · Functional pouches

SZN vs WIP

WIP offers energy pouches in two strengths, 100 mg and 200 mg of caffeine per pouch. The purpose of this article is to compare both brands with as little bias as possible, to help you understand which product may be better suited for your individual and specific needs. For this showdown we have selected WIP's 100 mg pouches to compare against SZN.

SZN Original can
SZN Original
100 mg caffeine · B1 B5 B6 B12 · lock-in formula
vs
WIP can
WIP Energy Pouches
100 mg caffeine · niacin B6 B12 · large 1 g pouch
01 / Quick orientation

Main claims & who it's for

SZN
WIP
Primary health claims
Increased alertness, focus and mental performance. Normal functioning of the nervous system, energy-yielding metabolism and reduction of tiredness and fatigue.2
Supports physical performance (energy, stamina, endurance) and mental performance (alertness, attention), energy metabolism, cognitive function and healthy blood sugar.1
Best for
Everyday consumers and professionals looking to stay energized and focused throughout the day, and anyone new to pouches or moving over from a slim nicotine format.
Consumers used to large pouches who want a choice of strengths and a wide flavour range.
02 / The formulas

Same caffeine. Different pouch, different delivery.

WIP and SZN both put 100 mg of caffeine in a pouch, and WIP prints its doses on the label: niacin, vitamin B6, vitamin B12 and chromium, each at 50 to 75 % of the daily value. That honesty is worth saying out loud, because it is rarer than it should be in this category.

The differences sit elsewhere. WIP's L-theanine appears under "other ingredients" with no amount. Its B12 is cyanocobalamin rather than the active methyl form. And the pouch itself is a large, dry, 1-gram format that WIP's own guidance says to keep in "as long as the flavour lasts, typically 20+ minutes", while SZN's slim, moist pouch is designed to last up to 90 minutes, 4.5× longer-lasting flavour than WIP pouches.1

WIP · stimulant

Caffeine, 100 mg

"Energy, stamina, alertness."

Natural caffeine from green coffee, 100 mg per pouch. Chemically identical to the caffeine in SZN, and identically dosed. This row is a tie, and the strongest thing on WIP's label.1

Per pouch vs claim threshold75 mg
100 mg per pouch · properly dosed
WIP · vitamins

Niacin, B6, B12, chromium

"Energy metabolism, cognitive function."

Disclosed and real: niacin 8 mg, B6 0.85 mg, B12 1.8 µg, chromium 17.5 µg, at 50 to 75 % of the daily value. The B12 is cyanocobalamin, the synthetic form the body must convert, where SZN uses methylcobalamin, the active form.1

Share of daily value per pouch100 %
50–75 % of daily value · SZN 104–125 %
WIP · amino acid

L-theanine

Listed under "other ingredients".

The one active with no number. It sits after the sweetener and emulsifier on the label, with no dose. Studied at 200 mg, which is the entire active budget of a pouch, so in an otherwise honestly dosed product this line reads as a trace inclusion.7

Studied dose vs ~100 mg left in the pouch200 mg
Dose not disclosed · studied dose is 2× the remaining budget
WIP · format

1 g pouch, 20-minute guidance

"Keep it in as long as the flavour lasts, typically 20+ minutes."

A large, dry pouch that WIP suggests removing once the flavour fades. Buccal uptake needs contact time, so a 20-minute stay shifts delivery toward what you swallow. Think of the pouch as a tea bag: less time in the cup, weaker tea.1

Credit where due. WIP discloses its vitamin doses, offers a 200 mg strength for people who want it, and sells a wide flavour range. Those are real advantages. The question this article raises is what the format does with the ingredients, and how much of the label reaches you through the lip.

SZN through the same lens. Five ingredients, every one disclosed on the label and dosed at or above the level the claim requires. No proprietary blends, no trace inclusions.

Caffeine
100 mg
EFSA-approved claims from 75 mg
Vitamin B1
125 %
of daily reference intake
Vitamin B5
125 %
of daily reference intake
Vitamin B6
118 %
of daily reference intake
Vitamin B12
104 %
methylcobalamin, active form
03 / Comparison datasheet

Head to head, row by row

Measured values first, then the things you only learn by using both. The second group is our judgement from using both products, flagged as such, not a lab value.

Datasheet · same criteria for both
SZN vs WIP comparison chart
SZNWIP
Measured values
Price per can, single3$12.00Not sold singly
Price per can, bulk / subscription3$6.47$6.60
Servings per can Tie1515
Caffeine per pouch Tie100 mg100 mg (200 mg variant available)
Vitamins4 (B1, B5, B6, B12) at 104–125 % DRI3 (B3, B6, B12) at 50–75 % DV
Amino acids01 (L-theanine, dose not disclosed)
Pouch weight4700 mg1,000 mg
Pouch pHpH-neutralNot stated
Third-party testedYes · Eurofins5No
Sweeteners & flavourErythritol, sucralose, acesulfame K. Natural flavoursSorbitol, sucralose. Natural flavours
Label transparencyEvery amount on the labelEvery amount but one (L-theanine)
Our assessment Experience
Dosing5 of 5 ingredients properly dosed4 of 5 disclosed, at half the daily value
Scientific evidence for the formulaStrongWeak
Pouch sizeSlimLarge
Pouch feelSoft, premiumDry, gritty
Time in mouthBuilt for a ~90-minute plateauOwn guidance: 20+ minutes
Head to head, the two pouches pack the same caffeine and a real B-vitamin complex. The difference is the format: WIP's large, dry 1-gram pouch, which many users find irritating on the gums, against SZN's slim, moist 700 mg pouch. SZN is third-party tested and discloses every amount; WIP discloses all but one.
3 Brand webshops, captured 24 Sep 2026 · USD4 Manufacturer specification5 Eurofins CoA 24-08-117
04 / Format

Pouch size & feel

This is where the two products differ most. WIP uses a large, dry pouch of about 1 gram, which many users find uncomfortable and irritating on the gums. SZN uses a slim, moist 700 mg pouch designed to sit under the lip without irritation, and to keep releasing for around 90 minutes.

051015202530 mm SZN · SLIM PORTION 700 mg ≈ 28 × 14 MM · SLIM
051015202530 mm WIP · LARGE PORTION 1000 mg ≈ 31.5 × 15.8 MM · +43 % FILL

Drawn to volume from stated weights · same mm scale · silhouettes illustrative

05 / Absorption

Dosing aside, what can actually be absorbed?

Adding active ingredients to a pouch is a very interesting prospect. The pouch acts as a carrier that lets an ingredient reach your bloodstream faster than travelling through the entire GI tract, by passing through the oral mucosa. This is known as buccal absorption.

For it to actually work, the active ingredient needs to meet certain criteria, and it needs time in contact with the mucosa. WIP's own guidance is to let the ingredients release into your saliva and swallow, keeping the pouch in for around 20 minutes. That works, but it turns the pouch into something closer to a slow drink. SZN's lock-in formula is pH-neutral and moisture-optimised to pass the oral mucosa directly, and to keep doing so for the length of a working session.

Filter 1 · Size

Passive diffusion through the mucosa favours molecules under roughly 500 daltons. Larger molecules largely stay in the pouch until swallowed.

Filter 2 · Solubility

Moderately fat-soluble molecules cross fastest. Strongly water-loving or charged molecules diffuse slowly even when small.

Filter 3 · Contact time

Uptake through the mucosa is a rate, not an event. A pouch removed after 20 minutes delivers a fraction of what the same pouch delivers over 90.

Lipinski gate
< 500 Daltons
Caffeine MW
194 Da
SZN WIP FIG. 01 · MOLECULAR FILTER SALIVA · POUCH SURFACE ORAL MUCOSA — LIPINSKI GATE < 500 Da BLOODSTREAM SZN · CAFFEINE 194 Da · PASSES WIP · CAFFEINE 194 Da · PASSES
Fig. 01 — Passive diffusion through the oral mucosaLipinski's rule of 5 · MW < 500 Da

Both pouches clear the gate, because both are built on caffeine and small B-vitamins. What differs is contact time: a 20-minute stay shifts delivery toward the swallowed fraction, a 90-minute plateau keeps it at the mucosa. You could say the pouch is a tea bag. Less time in the cup, weaker tea.

Read more: sznpouches.com/pages/science

06 / Vitamins

Four B-vitamins above 100 % vs three at half

SZN
WIP
Vitamin B6
2 mg 118 %
0.85 mg 50 %
Vitamin B12
2.5 µg 104 % methyl
1.8 µg 75 % cyano
Vitamin B1
1.5 mg 125 %
Not included
Vitamin B5
5 mg 125 %
Not included
Vitamin B3
Not included
8 mg 50 %

SZN contains four B-vitamins, each above 100 % of the daily reference intake, with B12 as methylcobalamin, the form the body uses directly. WIP contains three B-vitamins at 50 to 75 % of the daily value, with B12 as cyanocobalamin, the synthetic form that must be converted first. WIP also adds chromium picolinate at 17.5 µg, which relates to blood-sugar maintenance rather than focus.

07 / Manufacturing & testing

Where it's made, and who checks

SZN is manufactured in Sweden, considered by many to be the birth nation of the pouch, and is third-party tested by one of the world's leading laboratories, Eurofins. This way you can be certain that each pouch contains what the label says. WIP manufactures in North America and sells as a US dietary supplement under the FDA disclaimer, without third-party testing.

THIRD-PARTY TESTED • EUROFINS • CERTIFICATE 24-08-117 • MADE IN SWEDEN • GMP FOOD MANUFACTURING • BATCH TESTED •
SZN Verified label
  • Every batch tested by Eurofins, one of the world's leading laboratories. Certificate of analysis 24-08-117.
  • Caffeine, B1, B5, B6 and B12 confirmed against the label, so each pouch contains what it says.
  • Manufactured in Sweden, the birth nation of the pouch, under GMP food manufacturing.
NO CERTIFICATE OF ANALYSIS • MADE IN NORTH AMERICA • FDA DISCLAIMER •
WIP Unverified label
  • No published third-party certificate of analysis.
  • Sold as a dietary supplement under the FDA disclaimer, where SZN's claims are the EU-authorised wording.1
  • Manufactured in North America, shipped from a US warehouse.
08 / Customer feedback

What the unhappy customers say

Both brands generate a lot of strong customer feedback, for the product and for customer support. As everyone's tolerance to caffeine is unique, some users are bound to feel nothing no matter whether they pick SZN, WIP or any other caffeinated pouch. That is why SZN offers a full 30-day money-back guarantee, so anyone can order and try the pouches.

Showcasing only five-star reviews doesn't say much. The unhappy customers are the biggest source of learning, so we compare the share of one-star reviews.

SZN
4.7/ 5
One-star reviews10 %
Verified reviews on sznpouches.com, at time of writing10
WIP
4.0/ 5
One-star reviews12 %
Amazon, energy pouch listing, at time of writing9
09 / The verdict

Same caffeine. Different delivery.

WIP is a fair product with an honest label, a 200 mg option and lots of flavours. Where it falls short is the pouch itself: large, dry and, by its own guidance, out after 20 minutes. SZN puts the same caffeine and a stronger B-vitamin complex in a slim, moist pouch built to work at the mucosa for around 90 minutes, and proves every dose with a third-party certificate.

30-day money-back guarantee · Ships next day
Frequently asked questions

SZN vs WIP, answered

Does WIP work compared to SZN?
WIP pouches work, as evident from many positive customer reviews, and the caffeine dose is the same as SZN's. The main differences are the size and feel of the pouch and how long it delivers: WIP's large, dry pouch is designed to be swallowed from and removed after around 20 minutes, while SZN's slim pouch is designed to absorb through the mucosa for around 90. SZN is also third-party tested. We encourage anyone interested in functional pouches to try a variety of brands to see which one becomes their favourite.
What does WIP taste like compared to SZN?
WIP offers a wide flavour range including Orange Citrus, Sour Cherry, Strawberry Kiwi and Mint, versus SZN's Original, Mint, Citrus and Peach. Amazon feedback on WIP repeatedly cites a "chemical-like burn" and pouches that are "extremely irritating to gums" among one-star reviews.9
Is WIP worth it compared to SZN?
For a similar per-serving cost, SZN delivers more: four B-vitamins above the daily reference intake in their active forms, a slim pouch that sits comfortably for a full session, every dose verified by an independent laboratory, and a 30-day money-back guarantee if the pouches are not for you.
Sources
  1. WIP, supplement-facts label images and product guidance, wip.com/pages/nutritional-info, captured 19 August 2026. 100 mg variant: caffeine 100 mg, niacin 8 mg, B6 0.85 mg, B12 1.8 µg (cyanocobalamin), chromium 17.5 µg; L-theanine listed without amount. Residence guidance "as long as the flavor lasts (typically 20+ minutes)".
  2. EFSA Register of nutrition and health claims: caffeine, thiamine, pantothenic acid, vitamin B6, vitamin B12.
  3. Brand webshop pricing in USD, single can and best bulk or subscription rate, captured 24 September 2026.
  4. Pouch weight per manufacturer specification.
  5. Eurofins certificate of analysis No. 24-08-117 for SZN Original.
  6. EFSA Panel on Dietetic Products, Nutrition and Allergies. Scientific opinion on caffeine and increased alertness and attention: claims substantiated at 75 mg per serving. EFSA Journal 2011;9(4):2054.
  7. L-theanine attention studies, 100–400 mg, PMC5546063.
  8. Buccal absorption and residence time, BCS class III formulation review, Pharmaceutics 2024;16(12):1563.
  9. Amazon customer reviews, WIP energy pouches, one-star filter, B0F8D98NJ9.
  10. Verified customer reviews on sznpouches.com.